The L.A. Film Fest hosts juried awards for U.S. Fiction, World Fiction, Documentary, Zeitgeist, LA Muse, and Nightfall, as well as Best Short Fiction and Best Short Documentary. Audience awards are presented to Best Fiction Feature Film, Best Documentary Feature Film, Best Short Film and Best Web Series.

The U.S. Fiction Award went to Takeshi Fukunaga for OUT OF MY HAND, which made its North American Premiere at the Festival.

The World Fiction Award went to Beata Gårdeler for FLOCKEN, which made its North American Premiere at the Festival.


World Fiction Award Winner FLOCKEN

The Documentary Award went to Mo-Young Jin for MY LOVE, DON’T CROSS THAT RIVER, which made its North American Premiere at the Festival.

The LA Muse Award was given to Delila Vallot for CAN YOU DIG THIS, which had its World Premiere at the Festival.

The inaugural Nightfall Award went to Viet Nguyen for CRUSH THE SKULL, which had its World Premiere at the Festival.

Also newly established this year, the Zeitgeist Award was given to Bradley Kaplan for STEALING CARS, which also had its World Premiere at the Festival.

The Audience Award for Best Fiction Feature Film went to POCHA, directed by Michael Dwyer and co-directed by Kaitlin McLaughlin. The Audience Award for Best Documentary Feature Film was a tie, and was given to two films: I AM THALENTE, directed by Natalie Johns, and BE HERE NOW, directed by Lilibet Foster.

The Award for Best Short Fiction went to DRAMA, directed by Tian Guan. The Award for Best Short Documentary went to DOLPHIN LOVER, directed by Kareem Tabsch. The Audience Award for Best Short Film went to IN HER PLACE, directed by Kevin Hamedani.  The Audience Award for Best Web Series went to THE GENDRTON PROJECT, directed by Anna Martemucci and Victor Quinaz.

This year marked the second year of a special collaboration with Funny Or Die for the Make ’em LAFF internet talent competition to discover content creators of color and underrepresented voices who specialize in comedy. The winner was selected by a jury comprised of comedians. The winner was Marisha Mukerjee‘s OPEN HOUSE. Marisha will have her next video produced by Funny Or Die.

The Los Angeles Film Festival kicked off on Wednesday, June 10 with the LA Premiere of Paul Weitz’s GRANDMA and will closed with a Live Read of FAST TIMES AT RIDGEMONT HIGH directed by Eli Roth. Gala Screenings included the World Premiere of the new television series SCREAM, Todd Strauss-Schulson’s THE FINAL GIRLS and Benson Lee’s SEOUL SEARCHING. The 2015 Los Angeles Film Festival Guest Director was Rodrigo García; the recipient of the Jaeger-LeCoultre Glory to the Filmmaker Award was Gale Anne Hurd, this year’s Spirit of Independence Award was bestowed upon Lily Tomlin.


The Los Angeles Film Festival is a key part of the exhibition arm of Film Independent showcasing new American and international cinema that embraces diversity, innovation and unique perspectives. The Festival produces one-of-a-kind events featuring critically acclaimed filmmakers, industry professionals, and award-winning talent from our City of Angels and around the world. The Festival’s signature programs include the Filmmaker Retreat, Music in Film at The GRAMMY Museum®, Celebrating Women Filmmakers, Master Classes, Spirit of Independence Award, Coffee Talks, LA Muse and more. The Festival also screens short films created by high school students and a special section devoted to expanded storytelling across the web, TV and gaming. The Los Angeles Film Festival is presented in conjunction with Presenting Media Sponsor the Los Angeles Times. The Official Host Venue is Regal Cinemas L.A. LIVE Stadium 14. The Premier Sponsor is Southern California BMW Centers and the Principal Sponsor is Jaeger-LeCoultre. Platinum Sponsors include American Airlines, Dolby Laboratories, Inc., and EFILM | Company 3. The University Sponsor is Loyola Marymount University School of Film and Television. Peroni Nastro Azzurro is the Official Beer Sponsor. Sauza 901 Tequila is the Official Spirits Sponsor. The Los Angeles Athletic Club is the Official Host Hotel. WireImage is the Official Photography Agency. More information can be found at


Film Independent is a non-profit arts organization that champions independent film and supports a community of artists who embody diversity, innovation and uniqueness of vision. Film Independent helps filmmakers make their movies, builds an audience for their projects and works to diversify the film industry. Film Independent’s Board of Directors, filmmakers, staff and constituents, is comprised of an inclusive community of individuals across ability, age, ethnicity, gender, race and sexual orientation.

Film Independent produces the Spirit Awards, the annual celebration honoring artist-driven films and recognizing the finest achievements of American independent filmmakers. Film Independent also produces the Los Angeles Film Festival, showcasing the best of American and international cinema and the Film Independent at LACMA Film Series, a year-round, weekly program that offers unique cinematic experiences for the Los Angeles creative community and the general public.

Related: L.A. Film Fest – Part 1 – The Entertainer

Related: L.A. Film Fest – Part 2 – The Crusader

Related: L.A. Film Fest – Part 3 – The Game Changer

Follow us on Twitter at ASSIGNMENT X
Like us on Facebook at ASSIGNMENT X
Article Source: Assignment X 
Article: L.A. Film Fest – The Winners and Grant Recipients


Related Posts:

Leave a Comment

Increase your website traffic with

Dr.5z5 Open Feed Directory

bottom round